Fahrenheit In A Centigrade World

The Papers

A trip to a world full of metal women, maniacal police, punctured egos, arrogant celebrities, futureless politics, and Orwellian madmen. Unforgiving, incendiary, dangerous, inspiring, uncompromising end of the world party music.

The Papers were formed in 1979 and were based in the wild end of Brixton South London and oscillated between the music scenes in Brixton and Deptford Crossfields estate – the home of Dire Straits, Squeeze and many other fine bands. The scene was agitated, uncompromising, exhilarating, ripe for political protest and full of invention and unstoppable musical carnage. In the middle of this The Papers emerged with their strident tough talking explosion of challenging agi-pop.

The Papers are:

John Fitzsimons - lead vocals, guitar, writer John Wilkinson - lead guitar, keys, backing vocals, writer Mike Fitzsimons - bass, backing vocals Norman Marsh - drums

Twin brothers John and Mike Fitzsimons were born in Orpington, Kent in 1951. The sons of Irish emigrants they graduated from Essex University in 1971 and spend most of their energies directed towards music projects until forming the Papers in 1980. Bands along the way included ‘The Mighty Plod, The Stan Laurel Band and Targets as well as many other experimental projects. John Wilkinson was born in Barrow in Furnace, a graduate of Warwick University. Norman Marsh comes from Putney.

Within a year following an introduction by their good friends The Skunks (later The Craze) to Salamander Productions The Papers were recording their first single with Tony Taverner at Maison Rouge studios in Fulham, London, owned and run by Jethro Tull frontman Ian Anderson. Panache Music (Malcolm Forester) signed the band for publishing and produced the first two singles.

The first single 'How many More' featured the then US president Ronald Reagan (probably the world’s first ‘sample’). This single gained the band the reputation they wanted – politico agi pop. Rising to number one in the indie charts and being played by national BBC Radio. A proliferation of gigs followed, notably many at new festivals.

The follow up single ‘Reggae On The Radio' while as strong musically did not have such an impact. The music industry were unsure what to do with a band that straddled politics and pop. Deals came to an inevitable end. The band continued to play for a couple of years and expanded the line up to include sax (Bernie Hagley of Vanity Fair), vocals (Jenny Geraty) and percussion (Barry)

The Papers released their third single in 1984, 'The Only One I See', an anti war epic recorded at Mekon studios with Rob Doran (Hard Corps).

Then the band went their separate ways. Mike joined the Piranhas in Brighton. John Wilkinson jouned God Made Trouble. Norman and John 'went west'.

With political stakes raised even higher in todays 'modern world' and the emergence of the new wave of British Bands such as Hard Fi, The Futureheads and Bloc Party it was decided to re-release the Papers songs. Listen in and you’ll see why. The themes are eerily similar, nuclear proliferation, war, environmental meltdown.

The Papers music has been digitally re-mastered and the new album is now available. Get ready for another dose of hard-nosed agi-pop – and learn to dance.

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12